Four receive Distinguished Teaching Award
Educational Initiatives Awards and Presidential Chair in Undergraduate Education also announced

25 April 2001 | The campus honored four stellar teachers, at a Wednesday ceremony in Zellerbach Playhouse, with the Distinguished Teaching Award, Berkeley’s highest award for faculty.

The recipients — Sara Beckman, Carolyn Bertozzi, Seda Chavdarian and Ronald Gronsky — join the ranks of 194 others who have received the award since it was first given in 1959.

Professor Jasper Rine, who chairs the committee that awards the prize, said faculty members cherish the Distinguished Teaching Award because students, in large measure, select the winners.

"All courses and professors at Berkeley are evaluated by the students in those courses," he said, "and they hold us to a high standard, as they should." Course evaluations are heavily considered in the selection process.

The Distinguished Teaching Award is given by Academic Senate's Committee on Teaching. The committee makes its decisions after reviewing letters of nomination, student course evaluations, the teacher's statement on teaching philosophy, course materials and visits to the nominees' classes. The award includes a certificate and $3,000 from the campus.

Educational Initiatives Awards
Martin Covington named Presidential Chair in Undergraduate Education


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail