Seven faculty elected to arts and sciences academy

05 June 2002 | Seven Berkeley faculty in disciplines spanning anthropology to electrical engineering have been elected to The American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The new fellows are:
• Philip Frickey, professor of law in Boalt Hall School of Law, a specialist in constitutional and federal Indian law;

• Catherine Gallagher, professor of English, who writes and teaches about the British novel and cultural history in the 18th and 19th centuries;

• Randy Katz, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, an expert on computer architecture who worked with the Clinton administration in the early 1990s to bring the Internet to the White House;

• Mimi Koehl, professor of integrative biology, whose innovative application of engineering principles has helped biologists understand processes as simple as smelling and flying;

• Paleoanthropologist Tim White, professor of integrative biology and a director of the Center for Human Evolutionary Studies, who has unearthed many ancient human ancestors in Africa;

• Matthew Rabin, professor of economics, who applies principles of psychology to understanding consumer choice;

• International economist Laura D’Andrea Tyson, former dean of the Haas School of Business and former President Clinton’s national economic adviser. Tyson currently is dean of the London Business School.

Rabin was a 2000 winner of a MacArthur “genius” award, while Koehl received that honor in 1990.

The seven are part of a star-studded cast of academy members, whose rolls include musicians Keith Jarret and Itzhak Perlman; Nobel Prize-winning authors Naguib Mahfouz and Kenzaburo Oe; writers Oliver Sacks and Larry McMurtry; and Hollywood movie stars Anjelica Huston and Ang Lee.

The new fellows will be inducted at a ceremony at the organization’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass., on Oct. 5.


Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2002, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail