Click here to bypass page layout and jump directly to story.=

UC Berkeley >

University of California

News - Media Relations







  Press Releases

  Image Downloads



Eight UC Berkeley faculty members elected today to prestigious National Academy of Sciences
01 May 2001

By Robert Sanders, Media Relations

Berkeley - Eight faculty members at the University of California, Berkeley, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors for a U.S scientist or engineer.

The professors are among 72 new members and 15 foreign associates announced today (Tuesday, May 1) by the academy, chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. An additional member was elected posthumously.

Those elected today bring the total number of active members nationwide to 1,874, of which 126 are at UC Berkeley.

The new UC Berkeley members are:

* Leo Breiman, professor emeritus of statistics and founder and former director of the Statistical Computing Facility. His specialty is the analysis of statistical methods used in pattern recognition and prediction in high dimensional spaces.

* Stuart J. Freedman, professor of physics and an expert in the area of nuclear physics.

* Inez Y. Fung, director of the Center for Atmospheric Sciences and a professor in the departments of earth and planetary sciences and environmental science, policy and management. Fung specializes in climate and biogeochemical cycles.

* Alexander N. Glazer, director of the University of California's Natural Reserve System and professor of the graduate school in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology. He studies macromolecular complexes and the design and applications of fluorescent probes.

* Robion C. Kirby, professor of mathematics with an emphasis on the topology of manifolds.

* Mimi A. R. Koehl, professor of integrative biology and a member of the biomechanics group. She studies aerodynamic structures in animals in search of keys to their evolution.

* John Kuriyan, professor of chemistry and of molecular and cell biology, and an investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Kuriyan, who explores how particular structures and atomic interactions underlie the transmission of information from the cell surface to the nucleus and the components of chromosomal DNA replication, will join the UC Berkeley faculty on July 1 from Rockefeller University.

* Patricia C. Zambryski, professor of plant and microbial biology and a specialist in floral differentiation.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation, signed by Abraham Lincoln, that calls on the academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

Additional information about the National Academy of Sciences is available on the Internet at A full directory of NAS members can be found online at