Click here to bypass page layout and jump directly to story.=

UC Berkeley >

University of California

News - Media Relations







  Press Releases

  Image Downloads



Eleven UC Berkeley faculty members elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
09 May 2001

Media Relations

Berkeley - Eleven faculty members at the University of California, Berkeley, and a University of Michigan professor who will join the UC Berkeley faculty on July 1 are new fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

For their unique contributions to the nation and the world, they join other newly-elected scholars and luminaries including former cabinet members Madeleine Albright and Robert Rubin; World Wide Web inventor Timothy Berners-Lee; composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim; actors and philanthropists Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward and photographer Richard Avedon

The new fellows from UC Berkeley are among 185 fellows and 26 foreign honorary members elected this year to membership in the academy for their contributions in fields ranging from math to medicine, computer science to literary criticism and from public affairs to the performing arts.

Those elected bring the number of active members worldwide to 3,600 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members. They will be formally inducted in ceremonies at the House of the Academy in Cambridge, Mass., in October.

The new UC Berkeley fellows are:

* Kenneth N. Raymond, professor of chemistry and principal investigator in the Chemical Sciences Division of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

* Ignacio Tinoco, professor of chemistry and a member of the Physical Biosciences Division of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

* Barbara A. Romanowicz, professor of earth and planetary science and director of the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory.

* Christos Papadimitriou, C. Lester Hogan Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences.

* Stuart M. Linn, professor of biochemistry in the Department of Molecular & Cell Biology.

* Michael A. Marletta, currently a professor in the University of Michigan Medical School's Department of Biological Chemistry and the John G. Searle Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at the U of M's College of Pharmacy.

* Alan Dundes, professor of anthropology and folklore.

* Peter B. Evans, Chancellor's Professor of Sociology.

* Janet L. Yellen, Eugene E. and Catherine T. Trefethen Professor of Business Administration, professor of economics.

* Richard M. Buxbaum, Jackson H. Ralston Professor of International Law.

* Daniel Rubinfeld, Robert L. Bridges Professor of Law and professor of economics.

* Hubert L. Dreyfus, professor emeritus of philosophy.

The nation's leading learned society, the academy was founded in 1780 in the midst of the American Revolution by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other leaders of the young nation to "cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people."

The academy's current membership includes more than 150 Nobel Laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. Drawing upon the expertise of its membership, the academy does pathbreaking studies in such areas as arms control, education, and the history and future of the humanities.

A full list of the new fellows, with descriptions of their achievements, can be found at the academy Web site .