Click here to bypass page layout and jump directly to story.=

UC Berkeley >

University of California

Press releases Top stories News - Media Relations






  Press Releases

  Image Downloads



 Press releases

Seven UC Berkeley faculty among newly elected fellows of American Academy of Arts & Sciences
03 May 2002

By Robert Sanders, Media Relations

Berkeley - The American Academy of Arts and Sciences this week elected 177 new fellows and 30 foreign honorary members, among them seven University of California, Berkeley, faculty members.

The new fellows from UC Berkeley are Philip P. Frickey, professor of law in the Boalt Hall School of Law, a specialist in constitutional and federal Indian law; Catherine Gallagher, professor of English, who writes and teaches about the British novel and cultural history in the 18th and 19th centuries; Randy Katz, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, an expert on computer architecture who worked with the Clinton administration in the early 1990s to bring the Internet to the White House; Mimi A. R. Koehl, professor of integrative biology, whose innovative application of engineering principles has helped biologists understand processes as simple as smelling and flying; paleoanthropologist Tim D. White, professor of integrative biology and a director of the Center for Human Evolutionary Studies, who has unearthed many ancient human ancestors in Africa; Matthew Rabin, professor of economics, who applies principles of psychology to understanding consumer choice; and international economist Laura D'Andrea Tyson, former dean of the Haas School of Business and former President Clinton's national economic advisor.

Tyson currently is dean of the London Business School. Rabin was a 2000 winner of a MacArthur "genius" award, while Koehl received that honor in 1990.

The seven are part of a star-studded group that includes musicians Keith Jarret and Itzhak Perlman; Nobel prize-winning authors Naguib Mahfouz and Kenzaburo Oe; writers Oliver Sacks and Larry McMurtry; and Hollywood lights Anjelica Huston and Ang Lee. Massachusetts Sen. Edward Kennedy, National Science Foundation director Rita Colwell and National Public Radio commentator Daniel Schorr round out a list of experts, scholars and intellectuals.

The academy was founded by John Adams and other scholar-patriots in 1780 "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people." Its members conduct non-partisan studies on various issues ranging from international security, social policy and education to the humanities.

The new fellows will be inducted at a ceremony at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass., on Oct. 5.

A complete list of the 2002 fellows is on the Internet at