UC Berkeley News
Press Release

UC Berkeley Press Release

Three UC Berkeley faculty named to National Academy of Sciences

– Three University of California, Berkeley, faculty members were among 72 new members and 18 new foreign associates announced today (Tuesday, May 3) by the National Academy of Sciences.

The new members from UC Berkeley are Carolyn R. Bertozzi, T. Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, professor of molecular and cell biology and head of the department of chemical biology at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Steven G. Louie, professor of physics and senior faculty scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; and Barbara A. Romanowicz, professor and chair of earth and planetary science and director of the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory. This brings the total number of NAS members on the Berkeley campus to 130.

UC Berkeley Chancellor Robert Birgeneau and four other faculty elected last year to the academy were inducted as new members on Saturday, April 30, at NAS headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Election to the NAS recognizes distinguished and continuing achievements in original research and is one of the most prestigious honors for an American scientist. The NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. Established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by President Abraham Lincoln, its charter calls on the academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]