Press Release
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Sloan fellowships awarded to seven young faculty members

| 17 February 2009

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation announced today (Tuesday, Feb. 17) 118 new fellowship awards to early-career scientists, seven of them young faculty researchers at the University of California, Berkeley.

The seven are among scientists, mathematicians and economists from 61 U.S. and Canadian colleges and universities. Each Sloan fellow receives $50,000 to pursue whatever research he or she chooses for a period of two years.

“The Sloan Research Fellowships support the work of exceptional young researchers early in their academic careers, and often at pivotal stages in their work,” said Paul L. Joskow, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, in a press release. “I am proud of the foundation’s rich history in providing the resources and flexibility necessary for young researchers to enhance their scholarship, and I look forward to the future achievements of the 2009 Sloan Research Fellows.”

The new UC Berkeley research fellows are:

Ahmet Yildiz, assistant professor of physics and of molecular and cell biology

Rachel A. Segalman, the Charles Wilke Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering

Richmond Sarpong, assistant professor of chemistry

Alexandre Mas, associate professor in the Haas School of Business and the Department of Economics

Shachar Kariv, associate professor of economics and director of the Experimental Social Science Laboratory (Xlab)

Hartmut Häffner, assistant professor of physics

Jose M. Carmena, assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences and a member of the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute.

The Sloan Research Fellowships have been awarded since 1955 by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, a philanthropic, not-for-profit grant making institution based in New York City. Established in 1934 by Alfred Pritchard Sloan Jr., then-president and chief executive officer of the General Motors Corporation, the foundation makes grants in support of original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and economic performance.

For a complete list of winners, link to the Sloan Foundation's Web site.