Guggenheims, Sloans Ice Our Awards Cake

Four Berkeley faculty members have been honored with Guggen-heim Fellowship Awards, it was announced April 11.

In all this year, 158 artists, scholars and scientists from among 2,791 applicants received Guggenheim Fellowships totaling $4.5 million.

Also announced this month are three members of the physics faculty who received Sloan Research Fellowships. James C. Davis, Robert G. Jacobsen and Hitoshi Murayama are among 100 "outstanding young scientists and economists" to receive the award.

Guggenheim fellows are appointed on the basis of unusually distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment.

This year's winners at Berkeley are:

o Wye Jamison Allanbrook, professor of music, for work on comic mimesis in late 18-century instrumental music.

o Robin L. Einhorn, associate professor of history, for work on taxation and politics in U.S. history.

o Sabina Magliocco, visiting assistant professor of anthropology, to study ritual among American neo-pagens.

o Dan Voiculescu, professor of mathematics, for studies in non-commutative probability theory.


Copyright 1996, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail