Awards and Honors

The College of Letters and Science recently honored the winners of its third annual Social Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award and its second annual Social Sciences Distinguished Service Award.

The distinguished teachers for the 1996-97 academic year are George Breslauer, professor of political science; Raka Ray, professor of sociology; and Michael Watts, professor of geography. The theme of this year's teaching award is innovation and effectiveness in working with individual students, in addition to sustained excellence in undergraduate and graduate classroom teaching.

The college initiated the distinguished service award to encourage and reward faculty members who have been particularly generous, effective and responsible in serving their departments and the wider campus. The theme this year was service that benefits undergraduate and/or graduate students in the department.

For this distinction the college named Leanne Hinton, professor of linguistics, and Christina Maslach, professor of psychology.

The Chancellor's Advisory Committee on National and Community Service honored a group of faculty, staff, students and student groups singled out for exceptional contributions to the community.

The honorees were Miguel Altieri, associate professor of entomology; Steve Lustig, executive director of University Health Services; and Chris Murchison, academic program coordinator of Housing and Dining Services.

The awards were presented formally at a community service awards ceremony May 1 at Tang Center.

Stanley Berger, professor of mechanical engineering, has been selected to receive Brown University's Distinguished Graduate School Alumnus Award.

The award will be presented at the Brown graduate school convocation this month. Award winners become members of Brown's Dean's Advisory Council on Graduate Education.

Berger earned his PhD in applied mathematics at Brown in 1959 and joined the Berkeley faculty in 1961. His research areas include bioengineering and theoretical fluid mechanics.

Elizabeth Byrne, head librarian of the Environmental Design Library, received the Holway Jones Award at a recent meeting of the Council of Planning Librarians in San Diego. The award is presented to an individual who has provided inspired leadership and devoted service and has made a significant contribution to the council and the planning field.

Before coming to Berkeley in 1984, Byrne headed the Design, Architecture, Art and Planning Library at the University of Cincinnati. She is widely published and has served as a consultant to architecture and planning collections and libraries at a number of universities. Byrne currently serves on an editorial advisory board for the Journal of Planning Literature.

Tulin Erdem, assistant professor at the Haas School of Business, is coauthor, with Michael Keane, of an award-winning marketing science paper, "Decision-Making Under Uncertainty: Capturing Dynamic Brand Choice Processes in Turbulent Consumer Goods Markets."

The paper was named as winner of both the 1996 Frank M. Bass Dissertation Award and 1996 John D.C. Little Best Paper Award, which are given by the INFORMS College on Marketing.

The winning paper was published in Marketing Science, Vol. 15, no. 1, 1996.

Adolf D. May Jr., professor emeritus of civil and environmental engineering, was awarded the Transportation Research Board's Roy W. Crum Distinguished Service Award.

An expert in traffic management and traffic flow theory, May was cited for making "significant contributions to nearly every aspect of transportation involving highway facilities and traffic operations."

May, who joined the faculty in 1965, earned his PhD from Purdue University in civil engineering. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and an honorary member of the Institute of Transportation Engineers.

Garrison Sposito, a professor in the Ecosystem Sciences Division of the College of Natural Resources, has been elected a foreign member of the Academy of Agriculture of France.

Originally established in 1761 as the Royal Society of Agriculture, the academy renders formal advice to the government of France on all matters pertaining to agriculture, forestry and rural life, including natural resource management and environmental quality.

Its total membership numbers 120, of which no more than 60 may be foreign members.

Sposito was elected to the physics and chemistry of the environment section, one of 10 different sections of the academy.



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail