Awards and Honors

Seventeen distinguished faculty have been named for Chancellor's Professorships beginning in the 1997-'98 academic year. The program is designed to provide a total of $3.6 million to 60 faculty whose achievements in research, teaching and service are judged to be outstanding. Each award carries a stipend of $20,000 a year for three years to be used for research and scholarship.

The new recipients and their departments or divisions are Alexandre Chorin (mathematics), Alain DeJanvry (agriculture and resource economics), Peter Evans (sociology), Gerald Feldman (history), Susan Graham (electrical engineering and computer sciences), Sydney Kustu (plant and microbial biology), John Ogbu (anthropology), Alex Pines (chemistry), John Quigley (public policy), Boris Rubinsky (mechanical engineering), Samuel Scheffler (philosophy), Yuen Ron Shen (physics), Kaja Silverman (rhetoric), Elliot Turiel (education), Marvalee Wake (integrative biology), Michael Watts (geography), Candace Yano (industrial engineering and operations research).

Recipient John Ogbu, professor of anthropology, plans to use part of his stipend to complete cross-cultural research concerning primary education in Cantonese-speaking, Hispanic and African-American communities in Alameda County.

The results, Ogbu says, will inform efforts to improve minority education, including the university's own K-12 outreach initiatives.

"I'll be glad to finish up," he says, "and get the results out."

Ogbu was recently offered an endowed professorship at Columbia University, and the chancellor's professorship has proved an added incentive to remain at Berkeley, where he did his undergraduate and graduate education and has taught since 1970.

Fourteen faculty were named last academic year in the first of three rounds of appointments under the newly established program. Nominations are made by department chairs and reviewed by deans and the Budget Committee. Final selections are made by the chancellor and the vice chancellor and provost.

The British Academy has awarded J. Desmond Clark, professor emeritus of anthropology, this year's Grahame Clarke Medal for Prehistory. This is only the second time this biennial medal has been awarded.

The medal was endowed in 1992 by Professor Sir Grahame Clarke, who wished to recognize distinguished achievements involving recent contributions to the study of prehistoric archaeology. The two previous winners are Stuart Piggott and John Coles.

The award of the medal was announced at the academy's annual general meeting in July.

David Hodges, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, received the IEEE Education Medal from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers at its annual honors ceremony in June.

The award, which includes a gold medal and a $10,000 prize, was presented for Hodges' "innovative teaching of microelectronics and for pioneering education in semiconductor manufacturing."

Hodges joined the faculty in 1970 and served as dean of the College of Engineering from 1990-96. His current research includes a study of the semiconductor manufacturing industry.

Emeriti researchers Paul H. Mussen and Dorothy H. Eichorn at the Institute of Human Development have each received the 1997 Society for Research in Child Development Award for Distinguished Contributions to Education in Child Development.

Mussen, psychology professor and institute director emeritus, was cited for his creative research that fostered a deeper understanding of social development by scholars everywhere, including his pioneering work on prosocial development, superbly written textbooks on child and adolescent development that have shaped the thinking of four generations of students, outstanding contributions to graduate training and professional development, commitment to the scholarly development of others, as evidenced by his supportive mentoring and his efforts to disseminate knowledge abroad, leadership as director of the Institute of Human Development" and contributions to the Berkeley longitudinal studies.

The society honored research psychologist emerita Dorothy H. Eichorn for 19 "extraordinary years" as executive officer, her efforts toward improving the organization and structure of the society, significant contributions to our understanding of biologic factors in human development and her steadfast support of the interdisciplinary aims of the society, outspoken advocacy on behalf of the behavioral sciences in setting a policy agenda for the nation and dedicated leadership on behalf of numerous other professional organizations.

Chang-Lin Tien, professor of mechanical engineering, has been appointed to the NEC Distinguished Professorship. The post was established in 1996 by Japan's NEC Corporation.

Tien, who last month completed a seven-year tenure as Berkeley's chancellor, is a recognized authority in heat transfer and thermal radiation. A faculty member since 1959, Tien earned his PhD in mechanical engineering at Princeton University and holds honorary degrees from nine universities.

Staff ombudsperson Ella Wheaton was recently voted president-elect of the University and College Ombuds Association. She will assume her position in June 1998 and will lead the organization in a major strategic planning effort.

The organization is comprised of ombudspersons from most major universities in the United States and Canada as well as members from Puerto Rico and Ireland.

Wheaton is a well-known advocate for fair, just and respectful treatment, due process and "talking it out." She believes that, given the tools, most people will work out their differences and trains people to do just that. In May she was also elected to the board of directors of the Ombudsman Association, a world-wide organization of ombudspersons from major corporations, government agencies, universities, the health care industry and independent organizations.



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail