Seven Are Named AAAS Fellows

Seven Berkeley scholars have been selected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest federation of scientists, as 1997 AAAS fellows.

They are among 270 selected nationwide for their outstanding contributions toward scientific or social advancement.

The seven new members bring the campus's total to 104. A total of 34 UC faculty were elected fellows this year, representing over 12 percent of the scholars elected nationally.

Established in 1848, the AAAS has over 140,000 members and publishes the scholarly weekly journal Science.

The 1997 Berkeley fellows are:

Plant and Microbial Biology: Bob B. Buchanan

Integrative Biology: Roy L. Caldwell, Ned K. Johnson

Environmental Science, Policy and Management: Pamela A. Matson, Wayne M. Getz

Epidemiology: Ira B.Tager

Physics: Marvin L. Cohen



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail