Awards and Honors

The Berkeley Rotary Club recently honored Jesus Mena, campus spokesperson and director of Media Relations, for outstanding civic contribution.

Mena was commended along with Berkeley resident Kristin Prentice for their leadership roles in the building of the New Columbus Elementary School. Mena and Prentice were central figures in the raising of more than $1 million to help build a model school in a lower-income West Berkeley neighborhood.

Designed like a village, the new school houses a computer center, a science laboratory, a network of social services, a preschool facility and a community center.

Berkeley Unified School District officials said the state-of-the-art school could not have been built without the private funds raised through volunteer efforts of parents such as Mena and Prentice.

Vince Casalaina, Berkeley Multimedia Research Center video producer/director, has been named among the top 100 multimedia producers for 1997 by AV Video & Multimedia Producer magazine.

Casalaina, who is in charge of content development at the center, was cited for his work on web-based video-including both Art 160, the Internet WebVideo course he taught with professor Lawrence Rowe; and the site for AmericaOne, which has its sights set on the America's Cup race in the year 2000.

Art, computer science, and journalism students, plus a smattering of others, took the new web video course on ways to incorporate video on the internet. The outcome, says Casalaina, was exciting.

"There were huge differences in the projects they wanted to produce."

The web address for Art 160 is; the address for AmericaOne Challenge is

C.D. Mote Jr., professor of mechanical engineering and vice chancellor of University Relations, was elected honorary member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the organization's highest honor. Mote was selected for "being an educator of distinction, an innovative engineer of international repute and the recipient of many national and international awards."

A faculty member since 1967, Mote's research focuses on biomechanics, dynamics and vibration control. He has been awarded the Humboldt Senior Scientist Award and Berkeley's Distinguished Teaching Award.

Mote will be honored at the society's international congress Nov. 19 in Dallas, Texas.

Carlo H. Séquin and Lawrence A. Rowe, professors of electrical engineering and computer sciences, have been elected fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery.

Séquin specializes in computer graphics and geometric modeling, computer-aided design tools and interactive virtual environments. A faculty member since 1977, he earned his PhD in experimental physics at the University of Basel in 1969.

Rowe, who heads the Berkeley Multimedia Research Center, joined the faculty in 1976 after earning his PhD in information and computer science at UC Irvine. Rowe's research interests include continuous media applications, user interfaces, and application development tools.

Masayoshi Tomizuka, professor of mechanical engineering, has been named recipient of the Charles Russ Richards Memorial Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He will receive the honor at the society's mid-November meeting in Dallas, Texas.

The award, established in 1944, honors an engineer who "demonstrates outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering 20 years or more following graduation."

Tomizuka, an expert in control systems and theory, earned his bachelors's and master's degrees from Keio University in Japan and his PhD from MIT. He joined the Berkeley faculty in 1974.



Copyright 1997, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail