Berkeleyan Masthead HomeSearchArchive

This Week's Stories

Opportunities for undergrad research are plentiful and diverse

History major named University Medalist

One man's trash is another man's treasure

Mrs. Wheaton goes to Washington

Berkeley Faculty Association joins national alliance

The universe is flat, after all

Animal locomotion as high science

Kudos for Mark Twain catalogue

Rigoberta Menchú: 'The struggle for human rights is permanent and ongoing.'

Celebrating Chicano-Latino car culture for Semana de la Raza

Streamlining campus business using the Web

Regular Features




Campus Calendar


News Briefs



Posted May 10, 2000

Michelle Kniffin

In last week's Berkeleyan, our list of 16 campus staff to receive the Excellence in Management Award included, in fact, only 15. We neglected to name Michelle Kniffin in Housing and Dining Services. Congratulations, Michelle.

Four elected to National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences this month elected 75 new members, among them four Berkeley professors. Membership in the academy is considered one of the highest honors accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer.

The honorees from Berkeley are paleontologist Tim White, professor of integrative biology and director of the Laboratory for Human Evolutionary Studies; Jean M. J. Frechet, professor of chemistry; Ken Ribet, professor of mathematics; and professor of genetics Barbara Meyer.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects nine Berkeley faculty members

On April 15, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences elected 154 new fellows and 15 foreign honorary members. Among them were nine Berkeley faculty.

Chosen in recognition of their distinguished contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts -- the new fellows represent 89 institutions in 22 states and 11 foreign countries. They will be inducted Oct. 14.

The nine Berkeley fellows, and field in which they were honored, are: Richard Borcherds and W. Hugh Woodin, mathematics; Jean M.J. Frechet and Daniel Neumark, chemistry; Nicholas Cozzarelli and Randy Schekman, molecular and cell biology; Bruce Cain, political science; Ernest Adams, philosophy; and Jan de Vries, history.

Randy Katz

Professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences Randy Katz will receive the Association for Computing Machinery 1999 Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award, which honors outstanding contributions to computer science education. Katz, who was selected for his "role as teacher, mentor, researcher, and educational innovator," will receive his award at the association's annual awards banquet in San Francisco.

Paul Richards

Physics Professor Paul Richards has received the 2000 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids from the American Physical Society. Richards is being recognized for his development of innovative infrared techniques and pioneering research in far-infrared spectroscopy. The prize consists of $5,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the society at which the prize is being presented and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize is awarded biennially in even-numbered years as a memorial to Frank Isakson.

Brian Staskawicz

The American Academy of Microbiology has elected Brian Staskawicz, professor of plant and microbial biology, as a fellow. The academy is the only honorific leadership group devoted entirely to microbiologists and the science of microbiology. More than 1,500 academy fellows from 35 countries have been elected on the basis of scientific excellence; originality and leadership; high ethical standards; and scholarly and creative achievement.

John Ogbu

Anthropology Professor John Ogbu is one of four highly esteemed American intellectuals -- along with John Dewey, Howard Gardner and Carol Gilligan -- featured in a new book from Greenwood Press. In "Eminent Educators: Studies in Intellectual Influence," author Marice Berube analyzes the intellectual contributions of four individuals who have indelibly shaped 20th century American education. Ogbu is included for his role in remapping the education of blacks.

This semester, Ogbu was also awarded a Spencer Foundation Mentor Grant Award. The $50,000 award will support doctoral students under his supervision for research related to education.



May 10 - June 6, 2000 (Volume 28, Number 33)
Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the
Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail