Edmund Campion, Cindy Cox, Olly Wison

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers has chosen Edmund Campion, assistant professor of music; Cindy Cox, associate professor of music; and Olly Wilson, professor of music, as the 2000-2001 recipients of the ASCAPLU$ Standard Awards.

The cash awards are based upon "the unique prestige value of each writer's catalog of original compositions, as well as recent performances of those works in areas not surveyed by the society."

Arlie Hochschild

Sociology Professor Arlie Hochschild received the American Sociological Association's Award for Public Understanding of Sociology. The award is given to a person who has made exemplary contributions to advance public understanding of sociology, sociological research and scholarship.

William Kastenberg

Professor of Nuclear Engineering William Kastenberg was awarded the 2000 Arthur Holly Compton Award from the American Nuclear Society. Kastenberg was recognized for his contributions to nuclear engineering education and research. He was presented with the award in June.

Anne Middleton, Jonathan Marks

The northern California association of Phi Beta Kappa conferred teaching excellence awards upon Anne Middleton, professor of English, and Jonathan Marks, visiting associate professor of anthropology. Each received teaching laureate certificates and a $500 honorarium.

Harry Le Grande

Assistant Vice Chancellor, Residential and Student Service Programs Harry Le Grande was awarded the James C. Grimm Leadership and Service Award by the Association of College and University Housing Officers International. The award is the highest they bestow on a professional in the field of student housing.

Le Grande accepted the award at the association's annual conference in Pittsburgh, Pa. in July.

Edward Penhoet

Edward Penhoet has accepted an invitation to join the Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Hospitals' board of directors, effective immediately.

Penhoet is dean of the School of Public Health, as well as a professor of health policy and management and professor of molecular and cell biology.

"Dr. Penhoet's background in biochemistry and biology, his expertise in public policy and management and the depth of experience he brings as former president and Chief Executive Officer of Chiron Corporation will bring a fresh and unique perspective to our Board," says Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Hospitals' Chairman and Chief Executive Officer David Lawrence."

Gordon Rausser

Professor Gordon Rausser, the Robert Gordon Sproul Distinguished Professor in the College of Natural Resources' Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, has received the U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary's Honor Award. USDA Secretary Dan Glickman presented the award, the agency's highest honor, to Rausser June 5 in Washington, D.C.

The award is given annually to individuals and groups for "exemplary performance in work relating to USDA's mission, the nation and public service."

Rausser was honored in the category of "Expanding Economic Trade Opportunities for Agricultural Producers and Other Rural Residents" for his "outstanding accomplishments in the areas of agricultural public policy research and formulation."

Merrill Shanks, Tom Piazza, Charlie Thomas

Three members of the computer-assisted survey methods program, Merrill Shanks, Tom Piazza and Charlie Thomas, have been awarded the American Association for Public Opinion Research's 2000 Innovators Award for development of Web-based products for free dissemination of public opinion data.

The three were recognized for creation of an online system that includes a wealth of data files and documentation. Their innovations enable any user to download summary findings and to access, download and manipulate data.

Richard White

Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Professor Richard White was selected to receive the Cady Award by the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society. White and co-recipient Clinton Hartman received the award for "pioneering the early understanding of SAW (surface acoustic wave) devices." White received the award at the society's symposium in Kansas City in June.



Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail