25 October 00

Jean Fréchet, Daniel Neumark

Chemistry professors Jean Fréchet and Daniel Neumark were among 154 new fellows to be elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which recognizes distinguished contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts. They were inducted October 14.

Darleane Hoffman

Chemistry Professor Darleane Hoffman was inducted into the Women in Technology International Hall of Fame this summer. She also organized a three-day event for the national American Chemical Society meetings in Washington, D.C. in August, "Chemical and Nuclear Properties of the Heaviest Elements: A Symposium in Memory of Glenn T. Seaborg."

Jeffrey Long

Chemistry Professor Jeffrey Long is one of 18 faculty members nationwide to receive a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award for 2000. The awards, which recognize accomplishments in education and research, are designed to help young faculty members at early stages of their academic careers.

David Schaffer

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering David Schaffer is the recipient of the Biomedical Engineering Society Young Investigator Award. Schaffer's research focuses on gene therapy and stem-cell biology, with applications to therapies for diseases of the nervous system.



Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail