Compensation group seeks staff input

29 NOV 2000 | In September, Chancellor Berdahl announced the formation of a Compensation Advisory Committee to study and recommend solutions to problems with the campus job classification and compensation systems. The committee will submit recommendations for changes before the end of the 2001-2002 academic year.

The committee's major task to date has been to develop a good understanding of the variety of modern compensation models used by other universities and Bay Area companies, the current campus compensation system, legal issues, and union interests that may be involved in the campus' commitment to change the current system.

The group now wants to hear staff concerns directly, so it will hold a series of campus forums to hear concerns and ideas about the compensation and classification issues. These forums will be announced in the Berkeleyan, HR Links, and online news groups and Web sites. For staff members who prefer to communicate with the committee more privately, the group has established an e-mail account (

Faculty and staff committee members are Martha Fateman, Calvin Moore, Margaret Baker, David Baskin, Greg Brown, Ed Denton, Joyce Freedman, Sandy Haire, Ann Jeffrey, Harry LeGrande, Andrea Nakagawa, Patti Owen, Suzanne Pierce, Janice Zeppa, George Breslauer, Linda Krieger, Jonathan Leonard and Geoffrey Owen.








Home | Search | Archive | About | Contact | More News

Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.

Comments? E-mail