UC Berkeley NewsView of Campanile and Golden Gate Bridge
Today's news & events
Berkeleyan home
Berkeleyan archive
News by email
For the news media
Calendar of events
Top stories
Untitled Document

From Bauer to Zarkin, outstanding staff get their due

12 November 2003


Lisa Bauer, manager of Campus Recycling and Refuse Services, accepts an Outstanding Staff Award from Chancellor Berdhal at a ceremony honoring
31 stellar staffers and four staff teams for their contributions to Berkeley.

Kira Stoll photo

On Monday, Nov. 3, before an audience of top administrators and their own peers, 31 individual UC Berkeley staff members and four team honorees received Outstanding Staff Awards at a ceremony at Alumni House.

“The creative and innovative contributions of our staff exemplify the best of what this university is,” remarked Chancellor Berdahl. “We owe our success to our people: our staff, our faculty, and our students, and to all of those who contribute so much to Berkeley.”

The annual awards are administered by the Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Committee, better known as CSAC. Individual award winners for 2003 include:

Lisa Bauer, manager of Campus Recycling and Refuse Services;

Kristi Bedolla, undergraduate Student Affairs Officer, Sociology;

Eileen Bell, staff member heading up Graduate Affairs in Molecular and Cell Biology;

Nancy Chu, UC Berkeley Title IX Compliance officer;
Sheila Douglas, receptionist, Disabled Students’ Program;

Katie Dustin, coordinator of Advising Services, International and Area Studies;

Maxine Fredericksen, graduate student officer, Department of Rhetoric;

Deborah Friedman, director of Student Academic Services, Graduate School of Education;

Arnulfo Gomez, cook, International House;

Althea Grannum-Cummings, student advisor, Women’s Studies;

Ronni Gravitz, program manager, UC Berkeley Retirement Center;

Nina Green, MSO, Division of Health and Medical Sciences, School of Public Health;

Cassandra Hill, student affairs officer, Graduate Degrees Office;

Cathy Jay, disability specialist, Disabled Students Program;

Lourdes Jesuitas, administrative analyst, Work Study Program of the Financial Aid Office;

Ann Juell, human resources and personnel coordinator, Edu-cational Technology Services;
Devin Kinyon, coordinator, Cal Corps Public Service Center;

Miguel Labon, management security officer, Doe Library;

Kathy Lee, administrative analyst, Academic Office, Physics;

Gordon Long, senior laboratory mechanic, Mechanical Engineering;

Scott McCormick, supervisor, Mechanical Services Group, Mechanical Engineering;

Vicky Morel, business manager, Chancellor’s Immediate Office;

Anthony Mirabelli, tutorial coordinator and academic specialist, Athletic Study Center;

Mark Paulson, lead painter for utilities operation, Physical Plant;

Dan Plumlee, manager, equipment and collections, Geography;

Cora Sillers, senior administrative analyst, Financial Aid office;

Peggy Storrs, administrative analyst, Family Health at the Lawrence Hall of Science;

Cynthia Weekley, human resources senior recruiter;

Marjorie Weingrow, director of the SAGE Scholars Program;

Victoria K. Williams, classroom coordinator, Language Media Center;

Sharon Zarkin, receptionist, Goldman School of Public Policy.

Four team-award winners were also commended:
Financial Management Certificate Program Team. Comprised of staff from many campus units, this team developed in just four months a training program for managers and senior financial staff that is being piloted in 64 units reporting to the Vice Chancellor for Research.

Lawrence Hall of Science and Capital Projects. This team not only led efforts to plan, design, and construct the new “Forces That Shape the Bay” outdoor exhibit at the Lawrence Hall of Science but participated in fundraising, planning, and publicity efforts.

Solar Power Team. Members of the ASUC and Graduate Assembly collaborated with staff from two campus departments to obtain student and state funding to develop and implement the first solar-electric system on the Berkeley campus (located on the roof of the MLK Student Union).

Undergraduate Affairs Quality Service Facilitator Team. Staff members from the Office of Undergraduate Affairs voluntarily participated in 22 hours of training and team building to work on the Quality Service Team, a group dedicated to bettering the level of service to campus and community members and improving the working environment for Undergraduate Affairs staff.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]