UC Berkeley News


Five faculty members named AAAS Fellows

04 November 2004

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has announced its annual list of new fellows, including five faculty members at UC Berkeley.

Election as a fellow of AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. This year’s 308 new fellows were elevated to this rank “because of their efforts to advance science or its applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished,” according to the society.

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 19, at the Fellows Forum during the 2005 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C. The fellows were announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Oct. 29.

The new fellows, who will join 118 other fellows at Berkeley, are:

• Harvey W. Blanch, professor of chemical engineering in the College of Chemistry, “for broad-ranging scientific and educational contributions to biochemical engineering and biotechnology, particularly bioseparations, biothermodynamics, enzyme engineering, and transport and kinetics in microbial systems.”

• Timothy Ferris, professor emeritus of journalism in the Graduate School of Journalism, “for extensive and successful efforts to make astronomy accessible to the public through the creation of informative and enjoyable books.”

• Eugene E. Haller, professor of materials science in the College of Engineering and a faculty senior scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, “for the development of ultrapure semiconductors, including isotopically pure materials, and for the investigation of their physical and electronic properties and their device applications.”

• Ronald D. Lee, professor of demography in the College of Letters & Science, “for distinguished contributions to economic demography and for the development of dynamic models of demographic history, population forecasting and intergenerational transfers.”

• Peter H. Quail, professor of plant and microbial biology in the College of Natural Resources, “for far-reaching contributions to plant biology through pioneering work on phytochromes.”

The AAAS was founded in 1848, and the tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. The nonprofit society is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives including science policy, international programs, and science education.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]