UC Berkeley News



21 February 2007

Carla Hesse wins Warburg Prize

History professor Carla Hesse, whose scholarly interests have often focused on Europe generally and France in particular, has been awarded the Aby Warburg Prize, among the most coveted of international honors in the humanities.

The prize - awarded annually by the Aby Warburg Institute of Hamburg, Germany - is given to "eminent younger personalities or already established ones who have distinguished themselves in the scholarly field of arts, culture, and the humanities." It brings a cash award of 5,000 Euros (about $6,500) and entails the presentation of a lecture at the institute, which is part of the University of London.

Hesse, a member of the Berkeley faculty since 1989, is the author of two books, Publishing and Cultural Politics in Revolutionary Paris, 1789-1810 and The Other Enlightenment: How French Women Became Modern, as well as numerous journal articles and book chapters on European history. In winning the Warburg Prize, she joins a list of previous winners that includes Berkeley faculty members Michael Baxendall, of art history, and Martin Jay, a colleague in the history department. The award has also been given to such notable figures as anthropologist Claude Levi-Strauss and historian Carlo Ginsburg.

Carolyn Bertozzi honored by GLBT organization

Carolyn Bertozzi, a Berkeley chemistry professor and investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, has received the 2007 GLBT Scientist of the Year Award, given annually by the National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals (NOGLSTP) for her "outstanding achievements in applying chemistry to help answer biological questions related to human health and disease."

Bertozzi, who also heads a research group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, earned her Ph.D. at Berkeley in 1993. She joined the faculty in 1996, focusing on enzymes that regulate the biological activity of glycoconjugates and on new methods for engineering the chemistry and biological recognition activity of cell surfaces. Her honors include a Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering in 2000 and a Distinguished Teaching Award in 2001.

The NOGLSTP awards were established "as a means of identifying, honoring, and documenting the contributions of outstanding GLBT science, engineering, and technology professionals," as well as the corporations, academic institutions, and businesses that support them. "As an open and out lesbian in academia and science," the organization's citation says, "Dr. Bertozzi has been an excellent role model for her students and colleagues."

[an error occurred while processing this directive]