Berkeleyan Masthead HomeSearchArchive

This Week's Stories

Quantifying the big one

Albright, Reich to speak this month

Eavesdropping on extraterrestrial intelligence

Digging technology: Wielding multimedia tools, Oakland sixth graders study the ancients

Butting out: In smoke-free workplaces, smokers more likely to quit, study finds

Seismic and infrastructure upgrade projects set to commence this summer

From a field of 599, Berkeley junior chosen for Truman Scholarship

Notes from the Academic Senate's spring meeting

Regular Features




Campus Calendar


News Briefs



Posted May 3, 2000

Sixteen managers honored for excellence; Award ceremony set for May 11

Sixteen campus managers, nominated by their staff, are recipients of this year's Excellence in Management Award. They were selected for their commitment to promoting a diverse workplace.

The honorees will be fêted Thursday, May 11, from noon to 1:30 p.m. in the Lipman Room, 8th floor of Barrows Hall. The event is open to all members of the campus community. The Excellence in Management Awards are sponsored by the Berkeley Staff Assembly.

The winners are: Donna Bridges, Energy and Resources Group; Barinder Dhillon-Flanagan, Housing and Dining Services; Helen Diggs, Office of Laboratory Animal Care; Elizabeth Edwards, School of Law; Rebecca Green, The Library; Robert Hamilton, Electronics Research Laboratory; Sheila Humphreys, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences; Susanne Jorgensen, Radio Astronomy Laboratory; Ron Kos, Berkeley Administrative Initiatives; Clark Lemaux, International House; Silvester McBride, Physical Plant -- Campus Services; Horace Mitchell, Business and Administrative Services; Bobby Newell, Physical Plant -- Campus Services; Edith Ng, Staff Affirmative Action and Diversity Programs; Juavette Pulliam, Campus Supply.

Harry Scheiber

Law Professor Harry Scheiber has been elected an honorary fellow of the American Society for Legal History. One of only 11 scholars to have been so honored in the society's 45-year history, Scheiber was recognized for his landmark work in U.S. constitutional and legal history. Fellows are selected based on their role in setting exemplary standards within and beyond the domain of legal history.

"This award is a testament to Harry Scheiber's longstanding scholarly commitment to American legal history," said Daniel Rubinfeld, associate dean and professor of law and economics at Boalt Hall. "Through his research, writing and teaching he has significantly influenced the development of the field."

Scheiber, who joined the Boalt faculty in 1980, holds the Stefan Riesenfeld Chair in the School of Law and heads the Ocean Law and Policy Program at the Center for the Study of Law and Society. A former chair of the campus academic senate, he is currently a core faculty member of the Jurisprudence and Social Policy Program, Boalt's doctoral program of interdisciplinary studies in law, humanities and social science. He is also on the faculty of the Department of History.

Oliver Williamson

Oliver Williamson, Edgar F. Kaiser Professor of Business, professor of economics, and professor of law, received the 1999 John von Neumann Award at the Lazlo Rajk College for Advanced Studies, Budapest University. During his stay in Budapest in late April, he will give a lecture and meet with students and faculty.

The award is given in "appreciation for those professors in exact social sciences whose work has had the most substantial influence on the studies and intellectual activities of our students." Williamson is the fifth winner of the award.

Williamson was also one of the first 12 fellows to be inducted into the American Academy of Political and Social Sciences, at ceremonies in Washington, D.C. March 26.



May 3 - 9, 2000 (Volume 28, Number 32)
Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the
Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail