Berkeleyan Masthead HomeSearchArchive

This Week's Stories

Tracking the Causes of a Mysterious Disease

Middlekauff Lectures on Early American Democracy

Campus Faculty on NPR March 12

Painter Winston Branch Shares His "Great Love" for Painting and Education

Celebrating Women Role Models

UN High Commissioner Gives Frontline Report on Protecting the World's Refugees

Retirees to Log-on Via Cal Retirement Center Network Starting in April

Berkeley Financial System Goes Live

Events Honor Trailblazing Anthropologist Elizabeth Colson

Real-World Plans by Designing Students

Campus Garden to Remain at Oxford Tract

Photo: Mat Work

Photos: Safety Tips for Green Thumbs

Tamara Keith: Passed/Not Passed Can Be a Game of Russian Roulette

Regular Features




Campus Authors


Campus Calendar


News Briefs



Posted March 10, 1999

Rachel Moran

Law Professor Rachel Moran has been named the first Robert D. and Leslie-Kay Raven Professor of Law. She was honored for her achievement at a Boalt Hall ceremony Feb. 2.

John Clarke

Physics Professor John Clarke is the recipient of the National Academy of Sciences' Comstock Prize in Physics. Clarke was honored for his development of superconducting quantum interference devices, used for scientific measurements involving electricity, magnetism and electromagnetic waves. The prize includes $20,000.

Fiona Doyle

Fiona Doyle, professor or materials science and mineral engineering, has been chosen as the Donald H. McLaughlin Professor of Mineral Engineering. She is an authority on chemical thermodynamics and hydrometallurgy and is noted for her work in developing methods to clean up and prevent pollution from mine wastes.

Judy Innes

Planning Professor Judy Innes, director of the Institute of Urban and Regional Development, has received the 1998 Best Article Award from the Journal of the American Planning Association. Innes was cited for her article "Information in Communicative Planning," published in Vol. 64, No.1 of the journal.

Innes will be honored April 27 at an awards luncheon held in conjunction with the association's annual conference in Seattle.

Alan Kolling

Alan Kolling, a law and policy analyst in the Office of Student Life, recently received the President's Award of the Association for Student Judicial Affairs.

The association recognized Kolling's three years of outstanding service as chair of the constitutional review committee, as well as his efforts to broaden and diversify the leadership and membership of the national organization.

Kolling helped establish the organization in 1987 while serving as the campus student conduct officer.

Steve McCanne

Steve McCanne, assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, has been awarded a Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship. The award recognizes his work in multimedia networking and multicast communications.

Presented to 100 young scientists each year by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the award provides $35,000 a year for two years to support recipients in setting up labs and establishing research projects.

Eric Brewer

Upside magazine has listed Computer Sciences Professor Eric Brewer among its "Upside 100" for 1998. The list names 100 information technology entrepreneurs who have made a significant impact during the year. Brewer is a founder of the web search engine Inktomi.

Eyvind Wichmann

Eyvind Wichmann, professor of physics, has been elected a foreign member of the mathematics and physics section of the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters.

Gail Brager

Architecture Associate Professor Gail Brager won the Crosby Field Award from the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

Brager was cited for "Developing an Adaptive Model of Thermal Comfort and Preference," a paper she co-authored with Professor Richard de Dear from Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia.

The award, which will be presented at the society's June meeting, is given in recognition of the best paper published by ASHRAE in 1998.

Jim Demmel and Richard Fateman

Two computer science professors -- Jim Demmel and Richard Fateman -- have been named fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery.

Demmel, an expert in parallel computing, is currently one of the leaders of the campuswide Millennium Project, using clusters of computers to tackle data-intensive research in 18 different departments across campus.

Fateman is an authority on programming languages and scientific computation and is a past chair of the Computer Science Division.

Lotfi Zadeh

Recognizing his pioneering work on fuzzy logic and its applications, Lotfi Zadeh, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences, received one of three Information Sciences Awards for 1998 from the Association for Intelligent Machinery.

The awards were presented in October at the Joint Conference on Information Sciences in Research Triangle, NC.



March 10 - 16, 1999 (Volume 27, Number 26)
Copyright 1999, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the
Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail