Berkeleyan Masthead HomeSearchArchive

This Week's Stories

Summertime, and the living is... hectic

State budget provides increase for UC

Economist Rabin wins prestigious fellowship for work on human behavior

Rabin wins for work to model people's irrational behavior

Fitting jobs to people

Presidio excavations turn up three centuries of artifacts

Understanding the sun's fury

Archaeologist's work buries the enduring myth of humans in paradise

Astronomy awaits the next challenge: to study the dawn of the universe

24-hour news through the looking glass

Campus proposes major changes to salary plans

Human Resources gets new leadership, structure

Professors join senior management

Barbara Christian, professor and pioneer of contemporary American literary feminism, dies at age 56

Experimental solid state physicist and former dean Walter Knight has died at the age of 80

Richard Newton appointed new dean of College of Engineering

A river runs through us

Summer reading list introduces freshmen to great campus writers

Regular Features




Campus Calendar


News Briefs



Posted July 12, 2000

Three faculty named Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators

Three Berkeley faculty members have been appointed investigators in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. They are Adam Arkin, an assistant professor of bioengineering and chemistry and a staff scientist in the physical biosciences division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Carolyn Bertozzi, an associate professor of chemistry and a MacArthur Foundation Fellow; and Eva Nogales de la Morena, assistant professor of molecular and cell biology and a staff scientist in the life sciences division at Lawrence Berkeley Lab.

The three were among 48 new investigators announced May 8 by the institute in Chevy Chase, Md. Berkeley now has 10 Hughes investigators on campus. The institute is a medical research organization that enters into long-term collaborations with universities.

Arkin specializes in the relatively new area of bioinformatics. He is working on a detailed physical analysis of the biochemical and genetic networks that govern cellular development, and is active in the Berkeley Program in Genomics.

Bertozzi works at the boundary between biology and chemistry, investigating the role of sugar molecules on the surfaces of cells. She concentrates on carbohydrates that have been found on the surface of cells at sites of chronic inflammation, a condition found in diseases ranging from rheumatoid arthritis to inflammatory bowel disease.

Nogales de la Morena uses tools such as X-ray crystallography, state-of-the-art cryo-electron microscopy and a relatively new technique called single particle image analysis to investigate the cytoskeleton of the cell. Using these techniques, she looks at structural changes in tubulin, the building blocks of the cytoskeleton, and its interaction with other proteins.

Development Communications recently won two awards from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education

The invitations and program/honor roll for the opening of Haas Pavilion won a gold medal in the Special Program Publications Packages category. Jose Rodriguez was managing editor and Renee Thieme was principal designer. Susie Homer from Athletics produced the honor roll listing.Carolyn Hughes oversaw production and printing of the pieces.

The 1998-99 Annual Report of Private Giving won a silver medal in the individual fund-raising publications category. The editorial team under the direction of Karen Rhodes included Susan Corry, managing editor, and writers Carol Kasser, Jose Rodriguez and Craig Buckwald. Greg Young designed the report. Carolyn Hughes oversaw scheduling and printing and developed the financial reports for the publication.

The annual report has won CASE awards for each of the past three years.

Reinhard Genzel

Last month Berkeleyan announced the names of four Berkeley faculty recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The academy also elected Professor Reinhard Genzel as a new Foreign Associate. Genzel joined the physics faculty last July. Membership in the academy is considered one of the highest honors accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer.

Ken Goldberg

The Robotic Industries Association has named Ken Goldberg, associate professor of industrial engineering and operations research, as the winner of its 2000 Joseph F. Engelberger Robotics Award.

The Engelberger Robotics award recognizes individuals in four areas -- technology development, application, education and leadership. Goldberg will receive the award in the education category, for achievement in "enhancement of robot technology through the dissemination of robotic-related information." He accepts the award at the International Symposium on Robotics in Montreal this month.

Philip Kaminsky

Assistant Professor of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research Philip Kaminsky, along with co-authors David and Edith Simchi-Levi, have received the Institute of Industrial Engineers Outstanding Publication Award and the Joint Publishers Book of the Year award for their book "Designing and Managing the Supply Chain."

Both awards recognize outstanding publications that focus on a facet of industrial engineering, improve education, or further the profession. Kaminsky's awards were presented at the Industrial Engineering Solutions conference in Cleveland in May.

David Keightley

Professor Emeritus of History David Keightley was recently elected a fellow in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His name was inadvertently left off the list of winners announced in May.

T. Y. Lin

Professor Emeritus of Civil and Environmental Engineering T. Y. Lin received the first annual American Society of Civil Engineers' Outstanding Projects and Leaders Award for Lifetime Achievement in Design.

The OPAL awards recognize individuals whose lifetime accomplishments have made a significant difference in one of four categories -- construction, design, leadership and public works. Lin received his award April 29 in Washington, D.C.

Paul Richards

Physics Professor Paul Richards has received the 2000 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids from the American Physical Society. Richards was recognized for his development of innovative infrared techniques and pioneering research in far-infrared spectroscopy.

The prize consists of $5,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the society at which the prize is being presented and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize is awarded biennially in even-numbered years as a memorial to Frank Isakson.

Nancy Scheper-Hughes

The School of American Research has named Nancy Scheper-Hughes the winner of its 2000 J.I. Staley Prize. The award recognizes "those imaginative works that have gone beyond traditional frontiers in anthropology and given new dimensions to our understanding of humanity."

The prize panel selected Scheper-Hughes from among 41 outstanding nominations, for her 1992 UC Press Book, "Death Without Weeping: The Violence of Everyday Life in Brazil." She will accept the award, and a check for $8,000, at the meetings of the American Anthropological Association to be held in San Francisco this November.



July 12 - August 16, 2000 (Volume 29, Number 1)
Copyright 2000, The Regents of the University of California.
Produced and maintained by the
Office of Public Affairs at UC Berkeley.
Comments? E-mail